#SewMyStyle2018 · Hey June

August #SewMyStyle2018 Halifax Hoodie by Hey June

side

First things first, I’m declaring my absolute love for this pattern! Oh my god what a fabulous pattern it is  – everyone should make some sort of version of the Halifax Hoodie by Hey June patterns. If you haven’t already, get onto it! The Halifax Hoodie was this month’s pattern for #SewMyStyle2018 and I was so excited. The Halifax ranges in sizes XS – 2XL so it’s incredibly size inclusive and there are five (yes, five!) different versions.

I knew from the word go that I wanted to make the zip-up version which was view C. I prefer a good zip-up to a hoodie and also I could just leave the zip open and voila, it can accommodate a baby bump. I’ve been wearing my Halifax pretty much most weeks, it’s so comfy to wear and the sizing is spot on for me. It’s not often you can make a pattern and the fit is just a-maz-ing but that is what happened here! Also, apologies for the extremely zombie eyed pictures. I haven’t slept properly in days agh!

To being, lets talk fabric:

back

This french terry is just gorgeous. I had bought it at the start of the year from Dress Fabrics with the Halifax in mind at the Irish Sewing Meet Up. I think most of us bought some of this fabric, it was just so lovely. The colour and the pattern is so tropical and because it is french terry it is really cosy and snuggly. I know this colourway is no longer available from Dress Fabrics but Maeve has got a lovely navy colour as well as a mustard colour. I’m hoping she will have some of the mustard left in a few weeks so I can make myself a nice Tilly and the Buttons Coco post baby’s arrival. I had bought two meters of this fabric for View C of the Halifax cut in a size Medium and I’d say I have around half a meter left. The pattern is an incredibly economic use of fabric and the leftover fabric will make a nice contrasting piece on another jumper or cardi.

I had ordered a zip from Etsy about one month before the deadline for my Halifax. It was a perfectly matching turquoise open ended zip that would finish off my Halifax nicely. Only problem was the zip had to come from Turkey! As you can guess, it didn’t arrive on time and I had to do with a white zip from my local haberdashery. I bought some matching white cord for the hood string so it all tied together quite nicely. Of course, the zip from Turkey arrived a week after I had finished!

front hood

I was initially concerned that the zip-up would be quite difficult but the instructions and the way that the zip-up is constructed is just amazing. When reading the instructions you are jumping from step 12 to step 42 and back again but it works out perfectly. I was so surprised at how easy to sew the Halifax zip-up was. The only tricky part was sewing the twill tape on the inside of the zip-up. I had never used twill tape before so I was excited to see the results. It made such a professional finish to the inside covering all the zips raw edges. There was nothing ‘hard’ or complicated about sewing the Halifax and it was really enjoyable. The zip was a pain in the butt but I hate inserting zips at the best of times. I had lots of fun sewing the Halifax zip-up and especially loved constructing the hood. I had no idea how it was going to turn out but with the neckbinding piece, it ensured that all raw edges of the hood joining the main bodice were enclosed and hidden from sight.

I know I’m a more advanced sewist but an advanced beginner with some zip experience under their belt would have no problem making the Halifax zip-up. The steps to follow are so simple but the finish of the whole zip-up is so professional. My favourite details are the kangaroo pockets with the top stitching. I realise as I’m writing this blog post that I should have included a few close up pictures of the neckbinding and kangaroo pockets – sorry!

back hood

On to the sizing and fit. I’m around 5ft 6″ and I normally have to add an inch in length to the main body of the pattern and add two inches to the sleeve length. I made my Halifax in size Medium and I did neither adjustment this time and the sleeve length is perfect – I like my sleeves to be slightly longer so I can pull them down over my knuckles if I’m cold. On a lot of ready-to-wear tops the sleeves end just above my wrists which is highly annoying. As for the length of the bodice, you can see from the above picture that it is nice and long. I’m not sure how it will sit zipped up (there is still absolutely no hope of getting it to close) but if you are much shorter than my 5ft 6″ you might want to chop a couple of inches off the length.

Another pet peeve of mine is a hood that is way to small. I like a big hood so that if I put my hood up it will come right down near my eyes. If you’re as strange and pernickety as I am then you’ll love the size of the hood on the Halifax. It’s massive!

Just to summarise just incase you didn’t know already: I love, love, love everything about the Halifax pattern. To be honest, I have no idea about the other four versions as I only had eyes for View C. From looking on Instagram and seeing what all the other #SewMyStyle2018 participants had to say about their Halifax, the hoodie looks just as fun to make. I cannot wait to make another zip-up when I see the right fabric. I’d love to make one in a black french terry with a subtle pattern as I don’t have enough basic/neutrals in my wardrobe.

In other news, I’ve just received an email to say that my blog ‘The Sewing Blog of a Professional Stitch Ripper’ has made it to the final in the Irish Blog Awards 2018 Arts & Crafts section woohoo! There is no public voting but a big, big thank you to everyone who takes the time out to read any of my rambling blog posts. Thanks guys! 🙂

IMG_2841

Leave a comment